Energy Workforce & Technology Council 90th Anniversary

Energy Workforce Staff

Roni Ashley

Director Operations

Eddie Bowman

Events Manager

Susan Dudley

Administrative Assistant

Karina Erickson

Director of Communications

Stephanie Fuqua

Director Marketing

Deidre Kohlrus

Senior Director Government Affairs

Maria Suarez-Simmons

Senior Director Energy Policy


As President of the Energy Workforce & Technology Council, Determan is a partner in the development and management of the association’s strategy and activities to promote the energy services and technology sector of the oil and gas industry. In addition to overseeing daily operations, Determan works directly with Energy Workforce leadership to execute the Council’s engagement and growth strategy.

Determan leads Energy Workforce’s communications, branding and marketing. She advocates on behalf of the energy workforce and speaks frequently on workforce, culture, leadership and supply chain issues. Additionally, she oversees Energy Workforce Committees, including those focused on leadership development, best practice sharing and benchmarking, as well as the acclaimed State Department Houston Energy Course.

Prior to joining Energy Workforce, Determan provided private PR consulting services across multiple industries and held senior positions with the Girl Scouts of Southern Alabama. In these roles, Determan won regional and national awards for publications and marketing campaigns.

Determan has bachelor’s degrees in Journalism and German from Samford University in Birmingham, AL. Determan also served on the IPAA/Energy Workforce Education Advisory Board and currently serves on the World Oil Editorial Board and Hart Energy’s D&I Advisory Committee. She is a member of Rotary International, where she led a vocational exchange team to Portugal in 2012. She was named an E&P Magazine “40 Under Forty” honoree in 2021.



As President of the Energy Workforce & Technology Council, Tim Tarpley oversees Policy, Government Affairs, International Trade Policy and Environmental Policy, developing and implementing an integrated strategic plan to advance Energy Workforce’s policy positions, broaden awareness of its programs and priorities, and increase the visibility of its positions across key stakeholder audiences.

Tarpley has advocated for the men and woman of the U.S. energy industry for the past five years in Washington and around the country. Tarpley has presented at multiple conferences on energy policy and has testified in the United States Congress in front of the House Natural Resources Committee, the United States Trade Representative and the Texas Legislature.

Prior to joining the Energy Workforce & Technology Council, he served as Chief of Staff to Congressman Ted Poe (R-TX) and began his legislative career as an aide to former Congressman Mac Thornberry (R-TX). As a lynchpin of Congressman Poe’s staff for more than nine years, Tarpley worked on permitting the Keystone pipeline, ending the crude oil export ban and streamlining the permitting for LNG export approval.

Tarpley serves on the U.S.-Mexico Energy Business Council, the Department of Commerce Industry Trade Advisory Committee for Energy and Energy Services, and is a fellow in the British American Project.

Tarpley holds a juris doctor from Creighton University School of Law and a LLM from American University Washington College of Law.

Vice President Programs & Events


Peggy Helfert leads Energy Workforce’s robust training and events, including signature programs such as the State Department Houston Energy Course, Executive Leadership Programs, ESG Certification, Oil & Gas 101 and Leadership Forums.

Prior to joining Energy Workforce, Helfert held export compliance, as well as strategic marketing positions at Cameron Compression Systems and GE Oil & Gas. Before relocating from Central New York to Houston, she was a an educator for 10 years.

Helfert has a bachelor’s degree in Education from St. Bonaventure University in Olean, NY.


Stay Connected

Sign up for the Energy Workforce newsletter to stay on top of the latest energy news and events.