Close this search box.
Energy Workforce & Technology Council 90th Anniversary
Close this search box.

Energy Workforce Members Advocate for Sector at DC Fly-In

Energy Workforce Members with Rep. Garret Graves

Energy Workforce & Technology Council wrapped up its Washington, DC Fly-In on May 12, after three days of speakers, meetings with members of Congress and representatives from the Biden Administration. Council Members discussed issues important to the energy services industry, including potential bipartisan energy legislation, the energy services and technology sector’s role in energy and national security, supply chain, Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and more.   

Energy Workforce Members advocated directly with Congressional Members and staff during 30 meetings. They also heard speeches from Department of Energy Deputy Secretary David Turk, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Energy Diplomacy Laura Lochman, Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX-07) and White House Senior Advisor and Infrastructure Coordinator Mitch Landrieu, as well as Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND-AL), Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX-08), Rep. August Pfluger (R-TX-11), Rep. Troy Nehls (R-TX-22), and Sen. Kevin Cramer (R-ND). 

Board Member Matt Armstrong, Baker Hughes, with Department of Energy Deputy Secretary David Turk and Council SVP Government Affairs Tim Tarpley

In Deputy Secretary Turk’s remarks, he discussed the global challenges impacting energy resources, and the Administration’s activities in the energy sector in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Turk explained that the Administration would support LNG exports to Europe to support our allies in their effort to wean themselves off Russian gas.

Deputy Assistant Secretary Lochman gave Members an update on the impact of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine on the global energy markets and other international energy demand trends.

Rep. Lizzie Fletcher, a member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, spoke of increasing energy resources and the importance of expanding our cleaner, abundant domestic energy supply that includes oil and natural gas, as well as new technologies. Recently, she has introduced legislation calling for expedited approval for natural gas exploration from the U.S. to NATO countries, and for a program at the Department of Energy be established to assist our European partners in replacing Russian natural gas, oil and nuclear supplies with American energy.    

Mitch Landrieu, who serves as the President’s Senior Advisor on infrastructure in the White House, discussed the Administration’s plans to implement the bipartisan infrastructure bill that was passed last year.

Sen. Cramer is a strong advocate for an all-of-the-above energy approach that responsibly develops the natural resources his home state of North Dakota and the nation possess.

“Through my role on the Environment and Public Works Committee, I will continue to advocate for innovative technology incentives to support North Dakota’s energy sector and workers.”

Sen. Kevin Cramer

Rep. Pfluger, whose district is in the Permian Basin, recently introduced the Energy Freedom Act, legislation to accelerate federal permitting for energy projects and pipelines, it mandates new onshore and offshore oil and gas lease sales, approves pending LNG export licenses and speeds up all forms American energy development.

“We are pushing to not only make America energy independent, but energy dominant,” he said.

Rep. August Pfluger

On May 11, the Council awarded Rep. Brady and Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK) with the “Champion of American Energy” award for their relentless and uncompromising commitment to the oilfield services industry and domestic energy sector.

Sen. Inhofe said, “I am incredibly honored to receive the Champion of American Energy award from the Energy Workforce & Technology Council. For years, the war on fossil fuels has raged on. We saw great progress toward energy independence under the Trump Administration, but President Biden’s consistently anti-domestic energy agenda has hamstrung the American economy, all while giving the world’s biggest polluters like China a free pass.”

“Despite having an Administration that is actively undermining our domestic energy development, I have fought back against their indefensible policies like rejoining America into the radical, job-killing Paris Climate Agreement and their proposed new, unprecedented taxes on the oil and gas sector,” Inhofe said.

Sen. James Inhofe

“I am also fighting for the approval of the Keystone XL pipeline and reducing the red tape preventing production here at home. I am proud to have organizations like the Energy Workforce & Technology Council by my side as we work towards unleashing America’s energy independence. Let’s keep up the fight,” Inhofe said. 

Rep. Brady said, “It’s a tremendous honor to receive this award from my friends at the Energy Workforce & Technology Council. Energy Workforce has been a vital partner in the fight for American energy dominance, which has kept prices low for everyday Americans, provided countless economic benefits, and ultimately strengthened our nation’s security on the world stage. I look forward to our continued partnership as we advocate for a cleaner, more sustainable and more affordable energy future that puts Americans first.”

Board Member Todd Ennenga, Halliburton, with Rep. Kevin Brady and Council SVP Government Affairs Tim Tarpley

Participants from Council Member Companies included AMGAS; Baker Hughes; Brigade Energy Services; Caterpillar; Forum Energy Technologies; GO Wireline, LLC; Halliburton; Helmerich & Payne; HMH; LL Industrial Transmission; Lockton Global Energy & Marine; Milestone Environmental Services; NOV Inc; Oerlikon Metco; ProFrac Services; ProPetro Services; Solaris Oilfield Infrastructure and U.S. Well Services.

The members of Congress the Council met with included Senators John Cornyn (R-TX), James Inhofe (R-OK), and staff for Senators Ted Cruz (R-TX), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ben Ray Luhan (D-NM), and John Kennedy (R-LA). They also met with Representatives Pete Stauber (R-MN-18), John Curtis (R-UT-03), Garret Graves (R-LA-06), Dan Newhouse (R-WA-04), Kevin Hern (R-OK-01), David Valadao (R-CA-21), August Pfluger (R-TX-11), and Bill Johnson (R-OH-06). They met with staff for Representatives Henry Cuellar (D-TX-28), David McKinley (R-WV-01), Stephanie Bice (R-OK-05), Jerry Carl (R-AL-01), Marc Veasey (D-TX-33), Beth Van Duyne (R-TX-24), and Minority Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA-01).

Corry Schiermeyer, Senior Director Communications, writes about governmental policies for the Energy Workforce & Technology Council. Click here to subscribe to the Energy Workforce newsletter, which highlights sector-specific issues, best practices, activities and more.


Stay Connected

Sign up for the Energy Workforce newsletter to stay on top of the latest energy news and events.