Close this search box.
Energy Workforce & Technology Council 90th Anniversary
Close this search box.

Energy Workforce Board of Directors Initiates Management Succession Plan; Announces July Departure of Leslie Shockley Beyer and Appointment of Molly Determan and Tim Tarpley 

For Immediate Release: January 10, 2023
Contact: Corry Schiermeyer, Senior Director Communications
               Energy Workforce & Technology Council
               [email protected]

Today, the Energy Workforce & Technology Council (the ‘Association’) Board of Directors approved a long-term executive leadership succession plan. Current CEO, Leslie Beyer, will step down in July 2023. Effective immediately, Molly Determan, current Chief Operating Officer, and Tim Tarpley, current Senior Vice President and Counsel, are both elevated to the role of President with equal responsibility. Their joint leadership of the Association, reporting to the Board of Directors, will begin upon Beyer’s departure in July.

“It has been a pleasure to work with Leslie as she has led the Association to new heights over the last eight years,” said Energy Workforce Co-Chair Michael Reeves, President and CEO of Shawcor International. “Consistent with the governance protocols embraced by Leslie and the Energy Workforce Board of Directors, the controlled leadership transition announced today will ensure our long-term continuity. I have the utmost confidence in Tim and Molly and in their shared ability to lead the Association to even greater success over the coming years. Under Leslie, our Association has grown exponentially, not only in size, but in global recognition of the energy services sector. Her leadership as an advocate for the men and women of our sector has been crucial and as she now expands her work as a corporate Director, the Board and I wish her all the best.”

“It has been the professional experience of a lifetime to lead the Energy Workforce & Technology Council, and its predecessor, the Petroleum Equipment & Services Association,” said Leslie Beyer, CEO. “I am extraordinarily proud of what we have accomplished as a team and achieved on behalf of the sector and look forward to continuing my efforts in support of this great industry. Having devoted so much personal energy to the growth and development of this organization, it also gives me great satisfaction to leave our work in the very capable hands of Molly Determan and Tim Tarpley. I know their leadership will take Energy Workforce to new and even greater places.”

Molly Determan said, “I’m very passionate about our work at Energy Workforce, and all we do to support the sector and the industry. Being part of this management team for the past nine years has been an incredible experience and I’m very excited to partner with Tim in leading our Association forward.”

“I have thoroughly enjoyed working to grow the advocacy and government affairs portion of Energy Workforce over the past five years and amplifying the voice of the more than 650,000 energy workers we represent. I look forward to partnering with Molly to grow the reach of the organization even further in the coming years,” said Tim Tarpley.

Energy Workforce will observe its annual Board renewal process at their upcoming annual meeting April 26-27 in Austin, Texas. At that time, Brian Groody, Vice President OFS North America, Baker Hughes and Daniel Hindes, Vice President Well Servicing, ClearWell Dynamics are expected be elected to the positions of Co-Chairs, and Scott Livingston, President, Intervention & Stimulation Equipment, NOV Completion & Production Solutions is expected be elected as Vice Chair.

“Daniel and I look forward to working with Tim, Molly and the entire management team as we move the Association and sector forward in the coming years,” said Brian Groody, Vice President OFS North America, Baker Hughes. “Under Leslie’s leadership, the team has grown with talented professionals operating in a high-performance, collaborative culture. Leslie has created a legacy of achievement working on behalf of Energy Workforce Members, the sector and industry, and I wish her the best as she expands her Board career.”

“Molly and Tim are both extraordinary leaders with proven track records of leadership to continue to drive the change and momentum needed to lead the Association through the unprecedented challenges the industry faces today. I have enjoyed working with them through the Board and Committees and know that with their combined experience, professionalism and expertise, they will provide great leadership for the Association,” said Daniel Hindes, Vice President Well Servicing, ClearWell Dynamics.


About Energy Workforce & Technology Council
Energy Workforce & Technology Council is the national trade association for the global energy technology and services sector, representing more than 650,000 U.S. jobs. The Council works to advance member policy priorities and empower the energy workforce of the future.



Stay Connected

Sign up for the Energy Workforce newsletter to stay on top of the latest energy news and events.