Close this search box.
Energy Workforce & Technology Council 90th Anniversary
Close this search box.

Customers, Members Network at Second Annual Shoot for the Stars

Shoot for the Stars first-place team

Shoot for the Stars first-place team, Caterpillar

On October 17, the PESA Energy Educators Committee hosted its second Shoot for the Stars: Supporting STEM Energy Education Programs event. PESA members and customers gathered at Athena Gun Club for a half-day of networking and competition.

With proceeds supporting the IPAA-PESA Petroleum Academies, PESA/Rice Fellowship Program and IPAA-PESA Middle School STEM Career Exploration Initiative, including targeted middle and high school programs in Midland, Odessa, Houston and Fort Worth. The event’s strong turnout demonstrates PESA members’ dedication to education.

PESA Board Member and Energy Educators Chair Galen Cobb, Vice President, Industry Relations, Halliburton, kicked off the marksmanship tournament by welcoming attendees and thanking the teams entered in the tournament.

Shoot for the Stars second-place team

Shoot for the Stars second-place team, Weatherford

“Thank you to all marksmanship tournament players for supporting PESA’s strong commitment to STEM and excellence in energy education. Your support today is integral to developing the next generation of industry leaders,” Cobb said.

Competing in rotations through three bays, Event Sponsor Caterpillar’s team placed first with a score of 1165: Darin Bohlmann, Caterpillar; David Burger, Noble Energy; Mitch Deckard, Caterpillar; Phil Heisch, Caterpillar and Nick Hopper, Caterpillar.

Event Sponsor Weatherford’s team followed in second place with a score of 1138: Jason Lacombe, Weatherford; Chip Miller, Weatherford; Alan Sinor, Weatherford; Michael Stulberg, Weatherford and Chris Wu, Elevate Midstream.

Shoot for the Stars third-place team: Schlumberger

Shoot for the Stars third-place team: Schlumberger

Event Sponsor Schlumberger‘s team finished third with a score of 1104: Jeff Boettiger, Schlumberger; Dan Dinges, Cabot Oil & Gas; Jeremy Miller, Schlumberger; Tom Moyers, Schlumberger and Eric Thurman, Schlumberger.

PESA congratulates Chris Wu for the highest individual score.

PESA thanks sponsors Caterpillar, DistributionNOW, Fieldwood Energy, GR Energy Services, Halliburton, Lockton Global Energy & Marine, NOV, Occidental Petroleum, Schlumberger, TechnipFMC and Weatherford for making this event possible.

In addition, PESA would like to thank the customer executives who participated: Dan Dinges, President & CEO, Cabot Oil & Gas; Steve Green, President, Chevron; Chris Wu, COO, Elevate Midstream; Stephen Jones, Co-Chairman, EnerVest; Michael McFadyen, Executive Vice President, Offshore, Murphy Oil; David Burger, VP, Texas Operations, Noble Energy; Greg McCain, COO, Rockcliff Energy; and Tracy Krohn, Founder, Chairman, CEO and President, W&T Offshore.

[gdlr_button href=”” target=”_self” size=”medium” background=”#3d90c7″ color=”#ffffff”]PHOTO GALLERY[/gdlr_button]





Stay Connected

Sign up for the Energy Workforce newsletter to stay on top of the latest energy news and events.