Close this search box.
Energy Workforce & Technology Council 90th Anniversary
Close this search box.

Highlights From EWTC’s 2024 Annual Washington, DC Fly-In

Highlights from EWTC’s 2024 Annual Washington, DC Fly-In

Energy Workforce & Technology Council convened its annual Washington, DC Fly-In from February 5-7, drawing a record number of Member Company representatives to the nation’s capital to discuss critical issues important to the oilfield services and technology sector with Congressional Members. 

Over the course of two days, Energy Workforce Members advocate for the sector and its workforce to members of Congress and the Biden Administration. Discussions centered around various topics including potential bipartisan energy legislation, the significant ramifications of the recent decision to halt permitting for LNG facilities, the essential role of EWTC members in enhancing energy and national security, the necessity for permitting reform, and the implications of ongoing geopolitical conflicts worldwide. 

On Tuesday, Members convened on Capitol Hill for meetings with over 35 Congressional members and staff. The focus was on addressing issues affecting the energy workforce and highlighting the technologies being introduced to the oilpatch by member companies. Energy Workforce Members underscored to Congressional representatives and staff the tangible impact that policy decisions originating from the nation’s capital are having on their workforce. 

Member meetings included: 

  • Rep. Troy Balderson (OH-12) 
  • Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28) 
  • Senator Ted Cruz (TX) 
  • Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) 
  • Rep. Nathaniel Moran (TX-01) 
  • Rep. Beth Van Duyne (TX-24) 
  • Rep. David Valadao (CA-22) 
  • Rep. John Curtis (UT-03) 
  • Rep. Greg Pence (IN-06) 
  • Rep. Yadira Caraveo (CO-08) 
  • Sen. Markwayne Mullin (OK) 
  • Rep. Kim Schrier (WA-08) 
  • Rep. Kevin Hern (OK-01) 
  • Sen. John Hoeven (ND) 

And staff from the offices of: 

  • Rep. Pete Stauber (MN-08) 
  • Rep. Anna Paulina Luna (FL-13) 
  • Sen. JD Vance (OH) 
  • Rep. Mary Peltola (AK-AL) 
  • Rep. Jon Tester (MT) 
  • Sen. John Fetterman (PA) 
  • Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15) 
  • Sen. Bill Cassidy (LA) 
  • Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (NY-04) 
  • Sen. Martin Heinrich (NM) 
  • Rep. Nanette Barragan (CA-44) 
  • Rep. Marc Molinaro (NY-19) 
  • Sen. Michael Bennet (CO) 
  • Rep. Dianne DeGette (CO-01) 
  • Rep. Tony Gonzales (TX-23) 
  • Sen. Joe Manchin (WV) 
  • Sen. Mitch McConnell (KY) 
  • Sen. John Barrasso (WY) 
  • Sen. Kevin Cramer (ND) 

Energy Workforce also organized a Producer’s Lunch, during which Member Company representatives had the opportunity to hear from a lineup of distinguished speakers. These included Reps. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND-AL), Wesley Hunt (R-TX-38), Stephanie Bice (R-OK-05), Julia Letlow (R-LA-05), Garret Graves (R-LA-06), August Pfluger (R-TX-11), Randy Weber (R-TX-14), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX-02), and Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT-01), who discussed energy priorities for the 119th Congress. Each Member of Congress emphasized the importance of challenging the LNG permitting pause and addressing anti-oil and gas rhetoric. 

Additionally, Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-AK) and Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA-04) spoke at a reception hosted in collaboration with the Western Caucus. This event provided an informal setting for Congressional Members and their staff to engage in discussions about industry-related issues. 

On Wednesday morning, Energy Workforce welcomed senior Biden Administration officials from the Departments of State, Energy, and the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement. They addressed Fly-In participants, offering insights into key decisions from the Biden Administration and each agency’s perspective. The afternoon session of the Fly-In concluded with members of the HSE Committee participating in an informative discussion led by OSHA at the Department of Labor. 

Geoffrey Pyatt, Assistant Secretary for Energy Resources at the U.S. Department of State discussed the important role energy plays in combatting current overseas conflicts.   

Ryan Peay, Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Office of Resource Sustainability from the Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management at the Department of Energy addressed the Administrations recent announcement to pause all pending new non-FTA LNG export permits.   

 Kevin M. Sligh, Sr, Director, Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement discussed the importance of the partnership between industry and BSEE when it comes to offshore operations, and the ongoing collaborative work BSEE is engaged with industry on.  

 Heather Evans, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing for the International Trade Administration at the Department of Commerce shared the work ITA and her team were doing to promote US businesses overseas, and ways the Department of Commerce can support US companies looking to expand their presence overseas.  

 Energy Workforce thanks the Member participants, including representatives from Atlas Energy Solutions, Baker Hughes, Brigade Energy Services, Caterpillar Inc., ChasmBridge, ClearWell Dynamics, DNOW, Encino Environmental Services, Evolution Well Services, Forged Products, GO Wireline, Halliburton, Heidrick & Struggles International, Helmerich & Payne, HMH, Key Energy Services, Mattr, Milestone Environmental Services, Mustang Cat, NOV, Oil States International, Parker Wellbore, ProFrac, ProPetro, SLB, Solaris Oilfield Infrastructure and Vallourec USA Corporation.  

Deidre Almstead Kohlrus, Senior Director Government Affairs, writes about industry-specific policies for the Energy Workforce & Technology Council. Click here to subscribe to the Energy Workforce newsletter, which highlights sector-specific issues, best practices, activities and more.



Stay Connected

Sign up for the Energy Workforce newsletter to stay on top of the latest energy news and events.